For the fifth time, MEDIA CONVENTION Berlin (MCB), presented by Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg (MBB) and Medienanstalt Berlin-Brandenburg (mabb), will take place alongside re:publica in STATION Berlin. Joint tickets enable participants to attend both events – #mcb19 and #rp19.

Over the past years, MEDIA CONVENTION Berlin has developed to one of Europe's most important media congresses. German and international experts from the fields of media, science and politics will meet and exchange ideas with decision-makers and stakeholders in the digital economy and tackle questions on media and digital policy, market trends, and the development of the media society. The conference is marked by interdisciplinary, open and discursive talks, inspiring discussions and workshops, paired with a unique mix of participants: startups meet global players, film makers meet gaming geeks, digital activists meet directors, bloggers meet editors, media politicians meet developers.

In 2019, MCB will cooperate with re: publica, one of the largest festivals for the digital society, for the sixth time. The events take place at the same time at STATION Berlin. MCB and re: publica expect around 9,000 guests from more than 71 countries.

At MCB 2017 over 180 speakers provided content for 60 sessions on three stages. In recent years, MCB speakers have included VFX guru John Gaeta, Microsoft's head of holographic video Steve Sullivan, algorithm expert Frank Pasquale, Isabelle Sonnenfeld (Google News Lab), fake news expert Rasmus Kleis Nielsen (University of Oxford), Netflix founder Reed Hastings, Morgan Wandell (Amazon Studios), Inga Thordar (CNN Digital International) and ARD Chairman Lutz Marmor, policy makers such as EU Commissioner Günther Oettinger and Berlin's Mayor Michael Müller, renowned scientists such as Barbara van Schewick, Luciano Floridi and Bernhard Pörksen, media makers like Matthias Schweighöfer, the teams behind the series "4 Blocks" and "jerks.”, YouTube star LeFloid, political activists like Edward Snowden, Pussy Riot and "The Yes Men" as well as journalists Stefan Niggemeier, Juliane Leopold and Julian Reichelt.